



Journal of Molecular Structure (Theochem) 335 (1995) ix

## **Preface**

This volume contains a selection of scientific contributions presented at the VIIth Brazilian Symposium of Theoretical Chemistry, held in Caxambu, Brazil 21–24 November 1993.

The need of a Brazilian meeting on theoretical chemistry became apparent during the First Symposium of Theoretical Chemistry in Rio de Janeiro in 1980, and since 1981 the Symposium has been organized every two years. It constitutes today the major scientific meeting in the area in South America, and provides a stimulating and rich environment for scientific discussions and also motivation for younger students.

This VII Symposium was dedicated to Professor Ricardo de Carvahlo Ferreira to honour his scientific achievements and his pioneering work on quantum chemistry in Brazil. Over 230 participants, including invited scientists from Argentina, Chile, Croatia, Mexico, Spain, Sweden, Uruguay, USA, and Venezuela contributed to the success of this meeting in the form of plenary lectures, oral communications, round table disscussions, and posters. All of them are warmly thanked for their valuable contributions.

Furthermore, grateful acknowledgements are

made to Consehlo Nacional de Desenvolvimiento Científico e Technológico (CNPq), Fundaçao de Amparo a Pesquisa do Estado de São Paolo (FAPEST), Fundaçao de Amparo do Estado de Minas Gerais (FAPEMIG), Fundaçao de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de Pernambuco (FACEPE), Coordenadoria de Aperfeiçoamento do Pessoal de Ensino Superior (CAPES) and IBM Brazil for the financial support. In the same way, BIOSYM Technogies, SMI and MOLECULAR SIMULATION are gratefully thanked for their scientific cooperation.

Finally, Dr. O. Castaño, Da. Alicia Fernández-Clavero, Mr. Fernando Senent, and all the staff members of the Theoretical Chemistry Group of the Instituto de Estuctura de la Materia del CSIC, are also warmly thanked for their help in editing this special issue of J. Mol. Struct. (Theochem).

Madrid, September, 1994 Yves G. Smeyers Luiz C. Gomide Freitas W.J. Orville-Thomas